June 26, 2010


The Cassoday High School Reunion was held on June 26, 2010 in the community building.  President Harold Cooper served as emcee for the evening.  David Conner explained about the silent auction for the stained glass art.  Harold Cooper led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance and Gerry (Swanson) Brown led the group in the national anthem.  David Conner led the group in the invocation.  The meal of turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, lettuce salad, cranberry sauce, and pumpkin pie was enjoyed by all.  A special treat was the Effie (Griffin) Wakefield’s 80th birthday cake provided by the Griffin family.


Sandy Cooper and Donna Conner conducted the memorial ceremony.  Those deceased since the 2008 reunion and their dates of death are as follows:


                                Name                                                      Class                       Date of Death

                                Truman Strong                                      1935                       07/12/08

                                Robert Diller                                         1937                       11/13/09

                                Gladys (Perry) Williams                       1938                       06/19/09

                                Dortha (Elliot) Roelfs                           1940                       04/21/10

                                Xrepha (Griffin) Flavin                         1942                       02/21/20

                                Edgar Griffin                                          1944                       01/22/10

                                Neal Harsh                                             1944                       01/15/09

                                Delbert (PeeWee) Johnson               1951                       09/29/08

                                Jack Hamilton                                        1954                       11/14/09

                                Dalin Schowalter                                  1961                       07/26/09

                                Myron Sommerfeld                             1967                       01/27/10


The entertainment for the evening was alumnus, Jim Hoy, who gave a humorous speech about the Cassoday bootleggers.


Secretary-Treasurer, Karlea (Rohmeyer) Landman read the minutes of the 2008 reunion and gave the treasurer’s report. 


President, Harold Cooper, conducted elections of officers.  Karlea Landman nominated Harold Cooper for president.  David Conner seconded.  Harold was elected by unanimous vote.  David Conner elected Larry Patton for vice-president.  Carl Grunder seconded.  Larry was elected by unanimous vote.  Edgar Hodges nominated Karlea (Rohmeyer) Landman for secretary-treasurer.  Seconded by Larry Patton.  Karlea was elected by unanimous vote.


Harold asked if anyone had ideas for entertainment for future reunions.  No one offered any suggestions.  Harold also opened a discussion about the expense to cover the cost of catering and asked if anyone would like to grill or if they would prefer to pay more for a catered meal.  The decision was to pay more for a catered meal.  Harold indicated the officers would decide on the date for the next reunion in 2012. 


Edgar Hodges won the silent auction for the stained glass art with a bid of $100.  In addition, donations of $20 each were received from Neal Hamilton and Charles Hamilton. 


                                                                                                Respectfully submitted,


                                                                                                Karlea Landman