June 22, 2002


The 2002 Cassoday High School Reunion was held at the Cassoday Community Building on June 22, 2002 with a social period beginning at 6:00 and dinner at 6:30.  A “WELCOME CASSODAY HIGH SCHOOL” banner with orange background and black letters was in the window.  The tables were decorated with red, white, and blue ribbons down the center of the tables with two patriotic balloons at each end of each table.  The head table was decorated with U.S. flag ribbons tied in bows at the ends and in the middle with a bouquet of red and white carnations and blue larkspur in front of the center bows.  Star and flag confetti was sprinkled on the tables.  The punch table was decorated with five patriotic balloons. 


Punch was served during the social time.  The meeting started with President Calvin Hinde leading the group in the pledge of allegiance and the invocation.  We enjoyed a delicious meal of smothered steak, lettuce salad, green beans with caramelized onions, herbed new potatoes, fruit cobbler, iced tea or water. 


Vice President, Robert Harsh served as emcee.  He, Calvin, and alums reminisced about Cassoday High School and the community.  It was mentioned the last high school building was built in 1924.


Calvin thanked Robert and Donnese and Dean and Karlea for their work on putting the reunion together.  Minutes of the previous meeting were read by and approved.  The treasurer’s report also was read and approved. 


Calvin asked if we wanted to continue having the high school reunions.  Jean Calloway moved that we have a reunion every two years.  Garry Hoy seconded the motion.  Motion carried.   Pee Wee Johnson moved that we keep the same slate of officers.  Tom Miller seconded the motion.  Motion carried.


The following won prizes of a beverage can insulator:  Kenneth Goering, Bill Brown, Pat Harsh, Maurice Bullock, Vi Griffin, and Martha Hoy.  The following names were drawn for a tee shirts and tote bags:  Teresa McBeth, Effie Griffin, Doris Patton, Eugene Calloway, Maxine Goering, Ed Smith, Karlea Landman, Shirley Hinde, Harry Unruh, and Virgil Schowalter.  There was a drawing for four belt buckles with the following winners:  Pat Anderson, Gladys Perry Williams, Pee Wee Johnson, and Garry Hoy.  Earl Strong’s name was drawn to receive the bouquet on the punch table.  Jimmy Calloway’s name was drawn to receive the bouquet at the head table. 


The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m. Alums enjoyed visiting the remainder of the evening.


                                                                                    Respectfully submitted,




                                                                                    Karlea Landman